Downton Abbey

downton-abbey-logo-001Downton Abbey is a British period drama television series created by Julian Fellowes and (produced by ITV, PBS, Masterpiece and Carnival) which depict the life of an English aristocratic family, the Crawleys, in the fictional region of Grantham in Yorkshire. The series, which first episode is setted in 1912 shows the life of the family and their servants always having as a background the historical events that affected the post-Edwardian era in England (such as the sinking of the Titanic and the outbreak the First World War in series 1, the Spanish influenza epidemic and the First World War on series 2, the Teapot Dome scandal on series 4 and the first Labor Prime Minister in series 5).

The first series opens at the end of the Edwardian era in 1912 with news of the death of Lord Grantham’s heir aboard of the Titanic, spanning the two years before the Great War. The second series covered the years 1916 to 1919, and the 2011 Christmas Special covered the 1919 Christmas period, ending in early 1920. The third series picks up soon afterwards, covering 1920 through the autumn of 1921. The fourth series covers a six-month period between February and August 1922, while the 2013 Christmas special was set in summer 1923 and the fifth series takes place at 1924.

Today, it is one of the most acclaimed series by public and critics worldwide, winner of countless awards, including a Golden Globe for Best Miniseries or Television Film and an Emmy Award for Outstanding Miniseries or Movie, and it is watched over 200 territories around the globe.

Leave a Reply